PDA

View Full Version : I'm a complete novice but want to learn.

DijPurdy
25th April 2006, 20:06
Everyone’s sooooo friendly. :)

Ok I guess I should be embarrassed to ask this but I'm not :doh , I completely admit to being new to the world of horses (couldn’t find a steering wheel on a single horse out there :spinning ), but can someone explain to me in layman’s terms about lay betting, I looked at betfair clicked on a few things in the play for fun bit, but I don’t understand what might be good as a lay bet or otherwise. Is there a nice newbie part of the forum that explains these things that someone could point me in the direction of, sorry for being thick and asking but I’m sure these questions have to be asked before you start to learn? Thanks to anyone that wants to advice a complete novice.

wb
25th April 2006, 20:13
Welcome to the forum :)
No such thing as a silly question, we all have to learn somewhere, and at least you are making an effort to learn, before throwing money away.
First things first, before you look at betfair, do you understand 'normal' odds when it comes to racing such as 11/2, 5/1, 9/4 etc. etc. ?

wb
25th April 2006, 20:13
Ah sorry, I see that you asked about laying..... Doh!

wb
25th April 2006, 20:15
First things first, the betfair odds:

How do you work out Decimal odds. The most simple way I can explain this is by telling you to take away one!

For example - If you see a horse on betfair, and it’s price is 13, you simply take away one. 13-1 = 12. Therefore the price in traditional odds is 12/1
A few more examples:

A horse that is displayed on betfair at 15.
15-1 = 14. Therefore the price in traditional odds is 14/1

A horse that is displayed on betfair at 3.5:
3.5-1 = 2.5. Therefore the price in traditional odds is 2.5/1 (5/2)

A horse that is displayed on betfair at 5.5.
5.5-1 = 4.5. Therefore the price in traditional odds is 4.5/1 (9/2)

Laying on betfair works like this: