PDA

View Full Version : betfair prices

marky72
15th November 2006, 20:49
hi folks i run the two backing systems running for profit and jumping for profit i was looking for some advice im new to betfair i was wondering is it whens the best time to place your bets just before the race starts or early on:)

presto
15th November 2006, 20:56
to be honnest it's a bit of an unanswerable question.

- place a bet early, and you could get much better / worse than SP.
- watch the odd's and 'predict' the peak, though this is very time consuming, you have to be a good market reader and it often makes no difference.
- just before the race, you 'should' beat SP every time.

though nothing is certain. best advice i would give is put them on at a convenient and consistant time. though 1 hour before the start of racing is probably the very earliest you should consider - any earlier and the markets won't have formed properly.

marky72
15th November 2006, 20:59
thanx presto

ITooAm
15th November 2006, 21:55
Presto, I have heard many people say things such as "- just before the race, you 'should' beat SP every time.".

My question is how can you beat SP if you don't know what it is going to be? I am beginning to doubt my own understanding of what SP actually is? I have always assumed it is Starting Price (i.e., what most bookies' offer price was immediatley before the off), perhaps I am wrong?

ITooAm
15th November 2006, 21:57
(my post is regarding Lay prices)

presto
15th November 2006, 22:11
SP (starting price) - is the price the bookmakers pay out on the horse.

usually (well IMO) the betfair price represents the true odd's of the horse (open to debate) - but as the bookies want to take there cut - so offer below the betfair price, the movement of prices on betfair is usually replicated by the bookies price.